This book can be seen as the 'prequel' to Harry Heron: Into the Unknown, the true start to my Science Fiction series, the Harry Heron Adventures. Harry is inspired by my own grandfather and many of the incidents retold in the book of the fictional Harry's childhood are drawn from the stories I heard as a child of the real Harry's childhood in Ireland. While the book is pure fiction, I have drawn heavily on real events, real attitudes toward the Irish and the poor. I was inspired to write it and explore the idea of someone taking 'outdated' skills and knowledge into the future, by the realisation that many of these supposedly 'outdated' skills could, in some circumstances, but vital to survival.

 

Book Description

In the vein of Horatio Hornblower, Patrick G. Cox weaves an exciting, authentic tale of Henry (Harry) Nelson-Heron, a young midshipman in the British Navy in the early 1800s. Born in 1789 during the Irish Rebellion, Harry must overcome the prejudice against the Irish, the ancient enmity between his family and another, and the usual hazards of an active and inquisitive youth in order to realise his dream of becoming an officer in Britain’s Royal Navy. When he and his faithful friend and companion Ferghal make the treacherous journey to London to find a ship, fate smiles on them. Harry is appointed a midshipman, and Ferghal joins him on the HMS Bellerophon as a seaman. Corsairs, diplomacy, and exploration challenge their skills as the seafaring life takes Harry and Ferghal across the seas and beyond.

 

Print book ISBN: 978-0-9860953-0-6

eBook ISBN: 978-0-9860953-1-3